100DaysOfCode using FreeCodeCamp - Week 10

100DaysOfCode using FreeCodeCamp - Week 10

This week, I learned the importance of studying. After the first few days of frustration, I took a break from FCC's Intermediate Algorithm Scripting course, and instead, I focused on retaining information through effective study techniques.

Take a break.... and Study!

study time

Study Techniques

The two main studying methods that I have been using are spaced repetition and active recall.

  • Spaced Repetition is spacing out study sessions over periods of hours, days, weeks, and months so that information is effectively moved from short term memory into long term memory.

  • Active Recall is the act of stimulating your mind to remember as much about a topic without any other outside sources such as notes or text.

The following videos by Ali Abdaal highlight the benefits of these scientifically proven techniques.


Anki

Anki is an online flashcard app that utilizes spaced repetition and active recall to maximize information retention. Users can create or download pre-made decks of varying flashcard types, including front-question / back-answer, fill-in-the-blank, and much more. This app also allows for audio and images to be added to the cards.

I downloaded a HTML, CSS, and JS deck, as well as created a deck of flashcards for each of the built-in JS functions I have covered. For example:

2021-12-01 (14).png

2021-12-01 (15).png

2021-12-01 (16).png

2021-12-01 (17).png

Reviewing these cards help me to actively recall the information I have learned, and the Anki app automatically spaces them out so that I will retain the information.

Next Week

Only 4 more weeks to go!

Next week I plan to continue creating and using my Anki decks and working to complete FCC's Intermediate Algorithm Scripting.

As Always, Thanks For Reading!❤️

Are you doing the #100DaysOfCode challenge ⁉️

Comment where you are in your journey! 🚀 💯

Follow me on Twitter @instincdev for daily updates.

See you next week! 😀