100DaysOfCode using FreeCodeCamp - Week 1

100DaysOfCode using FreeCodeCamp - Week 1

I have completed the first week of #100DaysOfCode using FreeCodeCamp!

This one hour coding challenge has created a much needed, calming sense of accomplishment. Yes, I (usually) complete more than one task in a day. I also (usually) code for more than one hour. Nevertheless, I am completing this challenge not only to learn new coding concepts and frameworks, but also to learn to appreciate small victories and how far I have come over the last couple of years.

At the beginning of this week, I started the Responsive Web Design Certification. The courses that I completed this week include:

  • Basic HTML and HTML5
  • Basic CSS
  • Applied Visual Design
  • Applied Accessibility

These were very easy, quick, and simple to understand lessons aimed at easing the user into coding. I enjoyed the interactive aspect of the lessons, as well as the ability to essentially build and manipulate an application during the process.

Having grown accustomed to using the code editor Visual Studio Code, I greatly missed having an autocomplete feature. However, having to type every element is very good practice for a beginner. This practice also forces a not-so-beginner to pay increased attention to syntax errors.

My goal for next week is to complete the Responsive Web Design lessons and begin working on the projects for this certification.

Follow me on twitter @instincdev for daily updates. See you next week!