My Path To Becoming A Writer

My Path To Becoming A Writer

Hashnode Bootcamp Prompt

Edidiong Asikpo explained during her #hashnodeBootcamp presentation, that even natural skill will not develop without cultivation.

My mother was a teacher and avid writer. She continually cultivated and encouraged reading and writing. In grade school, I wrote poetry and short stories for fun. As a teen, I wrote as a means of self expression.

Writing has always been a very personal and exposing experience. Whether it is creative or academic, a lot can be learned about people by their word choice, sentence flow, points of focus, and their ability to convey a mental image through text.

When I write, I am motivated by the magical ability to be able to help others to see and understand a concept from a different point of view. As a teacher myself, it is wonderful to see the positive effect that exposure to writing has on the mind. Over the past few years, as I have transitioned from teacher to student, learning Front-end Web Development, I continue to be motivated to write, now from a technical standpoint.