100DaysOfCode using FreeCodeCamp - Week 14

100DaysOfCode using FreeCodeCamp - Week 14

It's been 100 Days!

I started this challenge with the goal to obtain 3 FreeCodeCamp (FCC) certificates - Responsive Web Design, JavaScript Algorithms and Data Structures, and FrontEnd Development Libraries.

Achievements

Over the past 100 days, I gained 2 of those 3 certifications!

Responsive Web Design

2021-10-15 (4).png

JavaScript Algorithms and Data Structures

2021-12-22 (3).png

Although I am a little disappointed that I did not fully complete my goal, what is most important is that I did achieve a greater understanding of CSS, JS algorithms, and perseverance!

Major Takeaways

This 100 day challenge taught me a lot about coding and myself.

FCC is a wonderful learning platform. It has multiple resources available to help you to understand each lesson. For example, each lesson has a dedicated help page that offers hints and multiple worked-out solutions to the problem. There is also a forum and various YouTube videos.

However, over half of the learning and coding process is research, and many times I had to search outside of the FCC curriculum to complete assignments.

Coding is hard! But, through this challenge, I learned that you should not and do not need to struggle alone. You should seek out and ask for help. Whether through a study group, discord channel, or Twitter, I found that sometimes just knowing that you are not alone, and someone else is struggling just as hard as you are, is beneficial to the learning process.

What's Next?

Now that these 100 days are through, it is time to look towards the next 100! I still plan to complete the FCC FrontEnd Development Libraries certification. I am also joining the #100Devs cohort offered by Leon Noel.

Last year I ran a free fully remote coding bootcamp that helped 63 people get software engineering jobs. Those 63 people saw their salary increase on average by 53,000 dollars! And we are doing it again! A fully free 30 week software engineering bootcamp starting January 11th, 2022!

This cohort is an amazing, FREE! opportunity for anyone learning to code, or (like me) interested in breaking into the field of programming.

As Always, Thanks For Reading!❤️

Are you doing the #100DaysOfCode challenge ⁉️

Comment where you are in your journey! 🚀 💯

Follow me on Twitter @instincdev for daily updates.