Hashnode Bootcamp: Stories Are Everywhere!

Hashnode Bootcamp: Stories Are Everywhere!

Day 6

ยท

2 min read

YouTube Changed My Life

My life as a technical writer began while surfing YT to find information on how to create a programing blog. Adrian Twarog's Programmers That Don't Blog Should Start Right Now was one of the first videos to pop up. In his video, Adrian suggested joining Hashnode's two week technical writing bootcamp. I signed up immediately!

Everyone has A Story

2021-09-24 (9).png

On day 6 of the bootcamp, Adrian spoke on the importance of using storytelling in technical writing. He explained that people will remember and often share the stories they hear. Thus, having a good story is just as important as the technical content provided. Adrian outlined 5 key questions to consider when telling a story.

  • Who is my audience?

I learned that it is important to know my audience and actively listen to what they are interested in. It takes a lot of practice to learn how to relate and describe things to others.

  • What value will my audience gain?

Adrian taught that content should provide some value to the intended audience. Even if I am that audience.

  • How do I deal with competition?

I realize there will always be someone that knows more or is a better writer. Also, someone may be creating the same content. Nevertheless, the keys to dealing with competition are to:

~ keep improving

~ be consistent

~ repeat

  • How do I make unique content?

Share myself; show my personality; talk about my personal experiences. Then people will follow me for my unique perspective as well content.

  • How do I make interesting content?

Adrian gave an awesome suggestion stating that:

"Stories Are Everywhere!"

Everyone loves a story. I can record myself while creating a project, discussing my process, problems, and solutions. Then, I can watch the recording and look for the story to share.

Takeaway

So, how did my life change? I watched a YT video and then joined a writing bootcamp on a whim. As a result, I have increased my social media presence by 200% and joined both Twitter and Hashnode. Don't be afraid to tell your story. People relate to and connect with difficulty. Be proud of your content, and like minded people will find you!

Thanks for reading! ๐Ÿ˜Šโค๏ธ

If you are one of those like-minded people (or not!) follow me on Hashnode and Twitter ! ๐Ÿค๐Ÿค

When was the last time a YouTube video changed your life? As a programmer, the answer is probably - daily! ๐Ÿ˜…

Like and Comment - What random act changed your life?

ย